Emma

Emma.

We had memories of a lifetime- Taking me to the park and always buying me 2 strawberry shortcake ice creams frmo the ice cream truck, scrubbing me skin good, letting me do your hair before you left, making me go crazy with “this little piggy…”, cutting mango and salting it properly, and always giving the best and tightest hugs.

You taught me to stand up for yourself, not let “No man hurt you”, respect my parents, value my education, follow my passions and most importantly, that you are NEVER too old or too heavy to sit on someone you love’s lap.

You showed us that you don’t need to have the same last name, skin color, or country of orgin in order to be part of a family. You were another grandma to me-my family from Guyana

I miss you so much, Emma. I will love you forever.

– Your Chanumamu, Talia

Leave a comment